New Member of the Family, by Lauren Baxter

 

 

     In September of 2010, after living in Savannah for a little over a year, I heard about auditions for Rogers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella at SCT. I walked into the doors for the first time the night of auditions, unsure of what to expect. I ended up being cast as the Queen and after that I was hooked!

 

Queenposing with young subjects...er...patrons!

Queenposing with young subjects…er…patrons!
January, 2010

      After Cinderella, I was in four more Main Stage shows; Honk!, The Music Man, Seussical, and A Year with Frog and Toad. As I learned more about the children’s theatre and how it worked, I realized that performing in shows was not going to be enough for me. I desired to teach children and share with them my love for theatre.

                                        

Gertrude McFuzz in Seussical the Musical, January 2012

Gertrude McFuzz in Seussical the Musical, January 2012

      A year ago I started working for SCT in the Let’s Put on a Play! field trip program. I enjoyed it very much, but unfortunately my other job limited my availability to do field trips. This past March, I was asked if I would be interested in being the Assistant Director of Creative Dramatics 1. Luckily everything worked out and I began working with Carmel Cowart and the kids in CD1 on the musical The Velveteen Rabbit. Now we are currently working on Tiny Thumbelina which opens November 15th on the SCT Main Stage! 

     I am very thankful that I ended up working at SCT, and I am excited every week to go to class. Its amazing to see the kid’s smiling faces and how excited they get about learning their songs, dances and blocking! I love helping them discover new exciting things. I have seen shy children come out of their shells and become confident, accomplished performers. I am very thankful to be part of the children’s theatre family and have the opportunity to inspire, educate and enable children to entertain. I looked forward to the many stories I will have to share with you in the future. Every day is an adventure and I’m filled with joy to be a part of it! 

Leave a Reply

