Talk Like a Pirate Day, by Christopher Blair

     Ahoy! Avast! En garde! Today, September 19th, is International Talk Like a Pirate Day! Ye scalawags.

     When I first heard that Creative Dramatics II was doing Gilbert & Sullivan’s The Pirates of Penzance this year, I could barely contain my glee!  You see – many, many, many years ago I got to play Frederic in Pirates at Asbury Memorial Theatre.  It was a production of firsts – Asbury’s first show, my first lead and my first good review (thanks Jim Morekis!).

Me backstage at Asbury Memorial Theatre, dressed as Act I Frederic.

Me backstage at Asbury Memorial Theatre, dressed as Act I Frederic.

     I remember the thrill and frustration of learning all the topsy-turvy lyrics. It was like learning a foreign language. I also remember getting to live out swashbuckling daydreams in the form of stage combat and fencing.

Me with a sword!

Me with a sword! Ha-ha!

     But I digress. Learning that Miss Maggie and I would be directing this fantastic piece of theatre, I did get nostalgic. But more than that, I thought, “These kids are going to have a blast!”

     We’ve only just begun, but already we have some wonderful moments starting to form. The language, (that can be difficult for adults to wrap their brains around – let alone, middle schoolers), is starting to take hold. And the kids are starting to infuse their own goofy and fun humor into it. We can’t wait to work with the big pirate ship and swords!

     I am so proud of them and excited to show you all the hard work they have done.  I also look forward to the day when they can look over old photographs and reminisce fondly on their days as pirates.

Leave a Reply

